Punch wins National Library award

Oladimeji Ramon

The PUNCH Newspaper on Tuesday won the National Library of Nigeria award for the Most Compliant Legal Depositor for 2017.

The award was conferred on the newspaper during the National Library of Nigeria’s Annual Readership Promotion Campaign, which held at the National Library, Alagomeji, Yaba, Lagos.

Receiving the award on behalf of the PUNCH, the Deputy Manager, Punch Information Centre, Mrs. Modupe Komolafe, said the recognition would spur the newspaper on to do more.

The programme, with the theme, “Sustaining life-long reading for positive change,” had the Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, as the Special Guest of Honour, while the Deputy Director, Ministry of Education, Education District VI, Oshodi, Lagos, Alhaji Tijani Adebisi, was chairman on the occasion.

In his remarks, the governor, who was represented by the Permanent Secretary, Office of the Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Mrs. Yetunde Odejayi, lauded the National Library of Nigeria…

[

Buhari meets Senate panel on Saraki-IGP face-off

Juliana Taiwo-Obalonye, Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari met with a delegation from the Nigerian Senate over the lingering face off between the Senate President Bukola Saraki and Inspector General of the Police Ibrahim Idris.

The meeting held inside the President’s office at Aso Rock Villa, Abuja.

The Senate had last week Wednesday set up a nine-member committee, chaired by Saraki, to meet with President Buhari on an allegation that the IGP is trying to implicate Senate President.

Read also: Saraki accuses IGP of frame-up plot

Read also: Saraki cries out, says ‘IGP wants to implicate me’

The Senate President had during plenary told his colleagues that the IGP had transferred some criminal suspects undergoing interrogation in Kwara State to Abuja to make statements to implicate him.

Other members of the committee are Senate Leader Ahmad Lawan, Chief Whip Olusola Adeyeye, Minority Leader Godswill Akpabio, Danjuma Goje, Sam Anyanwu, Aliyu Wammako, Fatima Raji-Rasaki, and…

[